Pop Prose: The Inaugural Post!

11 02 2009

Since my laziness to find a CD to listen to on the commute to and from work and the inability to download music due to current impoverishedness has forced me to listen to the radio for hours each day, I was compelled to reach an epiphany. How would the typical vapid top 40 song read if it were stripped of its hook-filled splendor and written out in sentence form? I present to you below the first in what could be as many as six ‘Pop Prose’ entries.

Let’s see if what Colbie has to say in ‘Realize‘ is coherent when written out like a letter to a romantic hopeful. Of course, to retain any ounce of sense within the song, I omitted chorus/bridge repetitions, and arbitrarily spelled out select contractions.

<ahem>

Take time to realize that your warmth is crashing down on in. Take time to realize that I am on your side. Didn’t I tell you? But I can’t spell it out for you. No, it’s never going to be that simple. No, I can’t spell it out for you! If you just realized what I just realized–that we’d be perfect for each other and we’d never find another–[if you] just realized what I just realized, we’d never have to wonder if we missed out on each other now.

Take time to realize I’m on your side. Didn’t I tell you?! Take time to realize this all could pass you by. Didn’t I tell you? It’s not always the same. No, it’s never the same if you don’t feel it too. If you meet me halfway? If you would meet me halfway, it could be the same for you.

Well shucks, Colbie. Hard to disagree with that killer string of logic. I’m sold! You could even say I realized. Did I tell you? Are you sure? Didn’t I not tell you earlier, maybe? Okay, so I did tell you, right?

Glad that’s settled.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

